Whether you were a bystander in a bar fight and found yourself arrested with a group of others or you were simply acting in self-defense, you could be facing serious jail time for an assault and battery conviction in Idaho. If you’ve been arrested, don’t feel embarrassed or discouraged — sometimes good people get caught up in a bad situation. Idaho’s criminal code is often written broad enough to capture all the bad people but many times so broad it ensnares people who are undeserving of prosecution.
Most people do not understand the difference between an assault and a battery. That is due to no fault of those individuals as our everyday television and movie exposure fails to recognize the difference as well. An assault is a threat by word or action that does not result in physical contact. A battery requires physical contact.
You need a good criminal defense lawyer to answer your questions and provide you with sound advice on how to get out of this as quickly and painlessly as possible. At Jacques Law Office, in Caldwell and Boise, we listen closely to the needs of our clients and fight aggressively to protect their rights.
Make sure your rights are fully protected. Contact us today to schedule a free initial consultation with a skilled criminal defense attorney.
We go above and beyond to protect the interests of our clients. We attack the prosecution’s case from all angles and make sure your side of the story is clearly heard. You can count on us to convince the jury to look at your case from a human perspective.
The consequences for an assault conviction are serious. If convicted, you are facing jail time, a permanent stain on your criminal record and possibly probation. Even on a misdemeanor conviction you could be looking at up to three months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
In addition, you may be forced to go through counseling or a mental evaluation.
The consequences for a battery charge are even harsher. If convicted, you are facing jail time, likely probation, and a criminal record that labels you as a violent offender. Even though a simple battery is a misdemeanor, it carries with it up to six (6) months in jail and up to a $1,000 fine.
The best way to protect yourself from an assault or battery conviction is to have a lawyer working hard for you. Call (208) 344-2224 for a free initial consultation.
Contact us today to schedule a free consultation with a caring criminal defense attorney. We understand that this is a difficult time for you, and we’re here to provide the support and guidance you need. Our team is committed to defending your rights and protecting your freedom. Call us now or fill out the contact form below to get started. We look forward to hearing from you and helping you through this challenging situation.